Annual Research Events

17th Annual College Research Day | Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2020

Jump to 2020 process and timeline



In 2020, College Research Day will be held live on Zoom. 

  • 10 a.m. - Welcome & Introductions  
  • 10:15 - Keynote presentation   
  • 10:50 a.m. - Q&A
  • 11 a.m. - Presentation of awards in the following categories:
    • Health Sciences Graduate Programs 
    • Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Programs 
    • PharmD Candidates 
    • Postdoctoral Scholars 
    • Undergraduate Students 
    • Junior Faculty Research Recognition Award
    • Faculty Research Recognition Award
  • 11:15 a.m. - End of program  

DEADLINE EXTENDED to Sept. 23, 2020

Keynote speaker James Thomas, PT, Ph.D.

James ThomasA professor of physical therapy at Virginia Commonwealth University, James Thomas's primary research focus is on how the central nervous system controls patterns of movement in a kinematically redundant system in healthy individuals and in those individuals with orthopedic or neurological impairments.

He earned his B.S. in Physical Therapy at St. Louis University and his Ph.D. in Kinesiology at the University of Illinois at Chicago.  After 12 years of clinical experience in orthopedics, he joined Ohio University to teach and initiated the Ohio Musculoskeletal and Neurologic research Institute. He brings an innovative virtual reality research initiative to VCU. The Motor Control Lab (MCL), under the direction of Thomas, has been funded by the NIH since 2004. The primary focus of the MCL is to better understand control of trunk movements and how various orthopedic or neurologic impairments alter that control. He uses state of the art technology, equipment, facilities, and strong research methods to investigate back pain. In addition to offering a creative option to physical therapy treatment in the DPT program, he adds a new dimension to the Ph.D. in Rehabilitation and Movement Science.

2020 College Research Day process and timeline 

The 17th annual Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Research Day will be held virtually, with the keynote by James Thomas, PT, PhD, and student and faculty awards presented live on Zoom from 10-11:15 a.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 14. 

Forms for research submissions and faculty research recognition award nominations are now open. The deadline for all has been extended to Sept. 23. 

 Because this is our first ever virtual Research Day, the process is different than in previous years. In lieu of posters and in-person presentations, PowerPoints with voiceover narration are required for each submission. Please review the information and timeline below now so you may properly prepare to participate.  

How to submit your research  

Before you begin, you may wish to review the rubric that will be used to judge student research. Awards will be given in the following categories:  

  • Health Sciences Graduate Programs 
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Programs 
  • PharmD Candidates 
  • Postdoctoral Scholars 
  • Undergraduate Students 

STEP 1: Create your abstract PDF 

  1. Download the fillable abstract PDF
  2. Read the instructions in red on page 1 of the download.
  3. Complete page 2 of the download.
  4. Save your abstract PDF as "LASTNAME, FIRST NAME_ KEYWORD_ ABSTRACT" (example: Smith, John_ Topic_ Abstract.pdf).
  5. Please create a separate abstract PDF for each project on which you are a primary author. If you have multiple abstract PDFs, please save each one as a separate file (do not merge them into one file). You will upload your abstract PDF in Step 3.

STEP 2: Create a PowerPoint presentation with voiceover 

  1. Prepare a PPT deck of 8-10 slides to present your research.
  2. Record voiceovers for each slide to explain your research just as you would in person. Keep your video to 5 minutes or less.
  3. Save your presentation as a video file. (Here is a helpful tutorial on how to record PPT voiceovers and save as a video file.)
  4. Name your video file "LASTNAME, FIRST NAME_ KEYWORD_ VIDEO" (example: Smith, John_ Topic_ Video.mp4).
  5. Upload your video to OneDrive or Google Drive and make sure your video will be accessible by anyone with the link. You will submit your presentation video link in Step 3.

STEP 3: Register online by Wednesday, Sept. 23

  1. All attendees should register via this online form. Zoom login credentials will be sent closer to the event to everyone who registers.
  2. PRIMARY AUTHORS ONLY must complete the research portion of the online registration form. The form will ask you to upload your completed abstract PDF and provide a link to your presentation video. Each primary author may submit up to three separate research projects.

What happens next 

Wednesday, Sept. 23: Deadline to submit research abstracts and presentations via the online registration form

Friday, Sept. 25: The EACPHS Research Committee will receive abstracts and presentations from students.   

Sept. 28-Oct. 2: The program will evaluate and score the projects based on an established rubric.  

Oct. 5-9: The top 5 projects in each category will be considered for awards. Representatives from departments and programs will be consulted as needed. Awards in the following categories will be determined:  

  • Health Sciences Graduate Programs 
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Programs 
  • PharmD Candidates 
  • Postdoctoral Scholars 
  • Undergraduate Students 

Monday, Oct. 12: A link to the abstract book and video presentations will be shared with the college.  

Wednesday, Oct. 14: Student research award winners will be announced during College Research Day live on Zoom.  


Email and a member of the committee will get back to you as soon as possible. 

Past Research Day events


Martin Barr/Stephen Wilson Lecture

Martin Barr/Stephen Wilson Lecture (2014)