Summer brings leadership changes to WSU Applebaum

The Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences will undergo several changes to its leadership team throughout the summer of 2021. They are outlined below in chronological order.

Associate Dean of Pharmacy Richard Lucarotti will retire June 30, having earned the title of professor emeritus for his 45 years of service to Wayne State University.

Filling Dr. Lucarotti's shoes will be Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice Susan Davis. She will begin a 12-month appointment as interim associate dean of pharmacy on July 1.    

Cathy Lysack will continue to serve as WSU Applebaum’s interim dean through August 1, when permanent dean Brian Cummings will officially take the helm. Dr. Lysack plans to take a leave of absence during the fall 2021 semester, returning to her roots on the college’s occupational therapy faculty in 2022.

In support of Dr. Cummings’ initiative to assess the college’s research strengths and determine the potential for larger-scale grants and funding, Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor and Chair George Corcoran will transition to a new role as senior advisor for college research initiatives. Effective September 1, this is a 12-month interim appointment and is staff advisory to the dean. Dr. Corcoran has announced that he will retire in August 2023. 

Stepping in to lead the Department of Pharmaceutical Science is Professor Steven Firestine, who will begin a 12-month appointment as interim chair on September 1.

Associate Dean of Health Sciences Peter Frade has extended his contract for an additional six months, remaining at the college until January 15, 2022.

Return to news