Doctoral student Taylor Takla wins Whitaker Prize for Young Investigators

Left to right: Alumna Dr. Erin Edwards, Dr. Nora Fritz, and Taylor Takla at the 2023 at the Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers Annual Meeting.

Taylor Takla, a second-year PhD student in Wayne State University's Translational Neuroscience Program, was honored with the Whitaker Prize for Young Investigators at the Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers Annual Meeting in Denver this week. The prize is presented annually to an emerging scientist whose work is judged to have substantial promise in increasing the understanding of MS.

Takla is a member WSU Applebaum's Neuroimaging and Neurorehabilitation Lab, which is led by Dr. Nora Fritz, director of research for the Department of Health Care Sciences, and associate professor of physical therapy and neurology. 

"To even be considered for a Whitaker Platform is an incredible honor, but we are absolutely thrilled that Taylor won the Whitaker Prize for her amazing presentation," Fritz said. "I am so proud of her hard work and dedication to improving the lives of persons with multiple sclerosis, as well as her representation of WSU on the national stage."

Takla's abstract was selected from all abstracts submitted by medical students, PhD students, postdocs and junior faculty nationwide as one of six to present in the prestigious Whitaker Platform Session. Dr. John Whitaker was a prolific MS neurologist and immunologist who was tragically killed in a bicycle accident in 2001. The session was named in his honor and has been held annually since 2002. Each year, the best talk of the Whitaker Platform Session is honored with the Whitaker Prize. 

Takla receives the 2023 Whitaker Prize Takla with her award

Return to news