Advisory boards

Board of Visitors

The College's Board of Visitors (BOV) met for the first time in May 2002. The Board meets four times per year, once in the spring and once in the fall. Between onsite visits, conference calls are conducted several times a year. The BOV serves to strengthen the College's relationships with external constituencies and helps with fund raising and outreach activities.

Board members are:

Lisa Applebaum Emeritus
Ron Coleman Retired
Taylor Cox Jr. Founder and CEO, Taylor Cox and Associates, Inc.
Founder and Senior Pastor, Living the Word Christian Ministries
Tiffany Cusmano, Secretary Community Engagement Specialist, EACPHS
Osama Fakih Owner, Arbor Lane Pharmacy
Anthony (AJ) Filippis President and CEO, Wright & Filippis
Atheer Kaddis, Chair Vice President, Pharmacy Services, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
Kristie Kava Owner, Co-Director, Oakland Physical Therapy
G. Richard Krieger Emeritus
Cathy Lysack, Ph.D. Interim Dean
Carlos Ortiz Emeritus
Bill C. Palazzolo, M.S., P.A.-C Director of Clinical Operations, Department of Surgery, University of Michigan Health Center
Dennis Parker, PharmD Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice, Faculty Representative
Glen Perry Director, Pharmacy Services Administration, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
Joe Ringer, R.Ph., M.B.A. Professor, Schoolcraft College and former Account Executive, Merck & Company
Tim Schramm CEO/Managing Member, Howe-Peterson Funeral Home & Cremation Services
Robert Vandenbergh Emeritus
Greg Wernette, Vice Chair Executive Vice President, Level One Bank


Diversity Committee

The Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (EACPHS), as part of the international and multicultural educational community, is committed to promoting a culturally and ethnically diverse educational environment. The college believes that it is beneficial to the learning process to achieve an educational atmosphere that reflects the ethnic and cultural make up of our society. The college strongly believes that the students, faculty and all members of the University community are best served by learning, studying and living in a heterogeneous ethnic and cultural environment. To that end and with that goal in mind, the college will vigorously promote these ideals in every aspect of its education, scholarship, practice and service. A multicultural society achieves the greatest benefit from having multicultural institutions.

During the 2006-07 academic year, Dean Beverly Schmoll established a Diversity Task Force that evolved into a 15-member Diversity Advisory Board. The board is charged with recommending and implementing strategies to build a culturally and ethnically diverse educational environment.

Committee members are:

Mary K. Clark, Ph.D. Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
Ronald Coleman, chair Retired
Randall Commissaris, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
Steven Firestine, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
Doreen Head, Ph.D. Director, Occupational Therapy Program
Cathy Lysack, Ph.D. Interim Dean
Dennis Parker, Pharm.D.  Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice
Heather Sandlin Academic Services Officer, Health Sciences
Timothy Stemmler, Ph.D. Professor and Director of Research, Pharmaceutical Sciences

In spring 2007, the board established an endowed scholarship fund to encourage and support diversity within the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. Providing the lead gift was Ronald Coleman, a board member and alumnus of the Pharmacy ('68) and Mortuary Science ('63) programs. The college currently is raising funds to complete the $350,000 endowed scholarship. Those interested in contributing to the fund should contact EACPHS Development Director Denise Thomas at