Faculty development program offers 'Grant Proposal Review' seminar

The Pharmacy Division, in collaboration with the Faculty Development Committee, in the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences(EACPHS) is sponsoring a Grant Proposal Review seminar, March 18 -19. Guest lecturer is Alice Clark, PhD, vice chancellor for Research and Sponsored Programs and Frederick A. P. Barnard Distinguished Professor at the University of Mississippi.

Clark will speak on “NIH Peer Review: One Reviewer’s Perspective” at 3:30 p.m., March 18 (Monday) in the EACPHS auditorium. The following day, March 19 (Tuesday), she will lead two group breakout sessions in the Dean’s Conference Room 1130 at 8:30 a.m. on multi-investigator collaborative projects and 9:30 a.m. on single primary investigator projects.

In addition, Clark will hold 15-minute individual consultations from 10:30 a.m. to noon. To schedule an individual appointment, please contact Douglas Miller, PharmD, chair of the Faculty Development Committee, at 313-577-6354 or email: aa3875@wayne.edu.

Both pharmacy and health sciences faculty, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, post-graduate residents, and students are invited to the seminar and group sessions.

Clark is the recipient of the 2010 Marcy Speer Outstanding Reviewer Award from the National Institutes of Health Center (NIH) for Scientific Review (CSR), which highlights the vital contributions of CSR reviewers who evaluate NIH grant applications. She was nominated for the Speer Award by four CSR scientific review officers, three NIH program officers, and three fellow reviewers.

Described by colleagues as the “chair of chairs” for her exceptionally “fair, efficient and collegial” way of running meetings, Clark has chaired the AIDS and Related Research Study Section and the Drug Discovery and Mechanisms of the Antimicrobial Resistance Study Section of the National Institutes of Health. She has been a regular member of the Bio-Organic and Natural Products Chemistry Study Section and served on multiple special emphasis panels. Clark is a past president of the American Society of Pharmacognosy and an American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Fellow, a designation limited to the association's top pharmaceutical scientists.


Return to news
150 years in the heart of Detroit