Private scholarships are awarded for outstanding achievement to Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences students who are in good academic standing, based on criteria determined by the contributors and recommendations from faculty.  To make a gift to a private scholarship please note the fund in the "Other designation or notes about gift" field on the online giving form or indicate the fund in the memo of your check.

For information on the Health Sciences Travel Grant, click here.

  • Board of Visitors Endowed Scholarship

    About the Donor

    The Board of Visitors Endowed Scholarship was created in January 2012 through contributions from the members of the board of visitors. The intent of the board of visitors is to provide tuition assistance to a deserving student that shows great promise for making a difference in their profession.

  • Dr. Timothy James Hill Memorial Scholarship

    About the Donor

    Timothy James Hill graduated from Wayne State’s pharmacy bachelor of science program in 1988 and earned his master of science from the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1994. During that time, Tim met, fell in love with and married fellow graduate student Karen, and the couple had three children. Tim was active with the Phi Delta Chi pharmacy fraternity and also was an accomplished musician, playing tenor saxophone in high school and for the Central Michigan University marching band and jazz band during his pre-pharmacy years. Sadly, he died in 2009 from pancreatic cancer. Tim is remembered fondly by friends and colleagues for his quick wit and his kind and loving heart. The Dr. Timothy James Hill Memorial Scholarship was created to acknowledge students in pharmacy practice and pharmaceutical sciences, and was awarded for the first time in 2020.

  • EACPHS Diversity Advisory Board Endowed Scholarship

    About the Donor

    Contributions from the Diversity Advisory Board (DAB) created this endowed scholarship with the intent of furthering the education of underrepresented students in the area of pharmacy and health sciences.

  • Frank O. Taylor Pharmacy Scholarship

    About the Donor

    The Frank O. Taylor endowed scholarship was established upon his death through a generous gift from his estate. This scholarship is awarded to students working in the pharmaceutical sciences.

  • George Corcoran Endowed Student Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences

    About the Donor

    This scholarship was established by Dr. Bradley Wong and his wife, Dr. Janice Busch, to honor Dr. George Corcoran, a research mentor, friend and longtime WSU Applebaum Pharmaceutical Sciences chair. Dr. Wong and Dr. Corcoran worked shoulder to shoulder on medically important research at the State University of New York at Buffalo, resulting in groundbreaking discoveries. Dr. Wong went on to work for Merck Research Laboratories and Amgen; he and his wife are now pharmacokinetics consultants through their San Francisco company, Wong DMPK Consulting. Each year this award will recognize a full-time graduate student who has mentored fellow students and who has demonstrated a strong commitment to scholarship, leadership and team-orientation.

  • George Fuller Endowed Scholarship

    About the Donor

    This scholarship was established to honor Dean George C. Fuller by his family and friends. Through his great vision and leadership, Dr. Fuller ushered the Wayne State College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions into the 21st century as Dean from 1988 – 2000. He rose to the rank of Professor at the University of Rhode Island after earning BS and MS degrees from Wayne State and a PhD from Purdue University. Dr. Fuller was honored as Alumnus of the Year by Purdue and Wayne State. Before returning to Wayne State, he led pharmacology and molecular/cell biology research programs in allergy, inflammation, cardiovascular and connective tissue diseases for G.D. Searle & Co.