The Applebaum PharmD Leadership & Scholars Program

Each class of pharmacy students in the Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences includes natural leaders and innovators. These students are passionate about the profession and committed to making a difference beyond their individual careers. They embody the entrepreneurial spirit of the college's namesake, Eugene Applebaum. 

The prestigious Applebaum PharmD Leadership & Scholars Program prepares these students to serve as the next generation of leaders in community pharmacy. Four students are selected each year for this transformational opportunity.

Meet the 2021-23 cohort   2020-2022 cohort

Program benefits

2019 Applebaum Scholars with Pamela Applebaum
The first cohort of Applebaum Scholars visited Applebaum Family Philanthropy in July 2019. Left to right: Judson Knott, Lauren Lim, Pamela Applebaum, Norah Krayem, Tara Orzenchowski and David Gutenschwager.

Students selected for the Applebaum PharmD Leadership & Scholars Program can look forward to the following benefits:

  • $4,000 scholarship award
  • $2,000 budget to complete project (alone or in collaboration with other students) that will advance community - ambulatory pharmacy practice
  • Monthly learning and advancement meetings with cohort and faculty mentor
  • Opportunity to submit a research paper based on project
  • Interface with special guest speakers or similar educational offerings twice a year
  • Annual meeting with Applebaum family members and Applebaum Family Philanthropy leadership
  • Recognition from the college in print and digital publications
  • Membership in an exclusive community of aspiring pharmacists committed to leadership and innovation in pharmacy practice and health care


  • Second-year student in the PharmD program
  • In good academic and professional standing
  • Evidence of leadership potential
  • Committed to making a difference in the community

How to apply

All second-year PharmD students who meet the eligibility requirements and have completed the college's scholarship application in AcademicWorks will be considered for admission to the Applebaum PharmD Leadership & Scholars Program. The program director will select students based on application information and recommendations from faculty members.


For more information on the Applebaum PharmD Leadership & Scholars Program, please contact:

Dr. Francine Salinitri, Clinical Professor, Director of Experiential Education