The Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program at Wayne State University is administered by two departments in the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences: Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Oversight of the program occurs through the Doctor of Pharmacy program director. They are assisted by the Pharmacy Executive Council (PEC) which consists of the chairs of the departments of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences and the dean of the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. The standing committees of the program are Admissions, Assessment, Awards and Honors, Curriculum, and Committee for Academic and Professional Progress (CAPP). The Pharmacotherapeutic Problem Solving (PPS) Oversight Committee and Experiential Committee are sub-committees of the Curriculum Committee.

The Doctor of Pharmacy degree is the entry-level degree for the practice of pharmacy in the United States. The program at Wayne State University is a four-year curriculum. Approximately 100 students are enrolled in each year of the program. 

Affiliated institutions and pharmacies

Wayne State University is ideally situated for the study of medical and health-related fields. The Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences is located on the medical campus of Wayne State University. The pharmacy program is affiliated with several other major hospitals in the area, providing our students with a wealth of educational opportunities related to health-system pharmacy.

The pharmacy program also provides opportunities for students to gain experience in community pharmacy practice through affiliations with most major pharmacy chains including CVS, Kroger, Meijer, Rite-Aid, Target, Walgreens and Walmart, as well as with independent community pharmacies in the area.