DMC team wins ASHP Best Practice Award for efforts to reduce hospital readmissions

DMC team wins ASHP Best Practice AwardThe American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) announced that it will honor a DMC team with a Best Practice Award for implementing a 30-day all cause hospital readmission tool to streamline transitions of care. This award is being given to just six programs nationwide and will be presented at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Anaheim, CA, in December 2018.  
The team includes Josh Raub and Ray Yost (both clinical pharmacist specialists at DRH), Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Assistant Professor (Clinical) of Pharmacy Practice Sean McConachie (previous PGY2 pharmacotherapy resident and currently WSU shared faculty at Beaumont Health) and Taylor Franckowiak (previous PGY2 pharmacotherapy resident at Harper now working at St. Mary Mercy Livonia). Also integral to the project were Ken Risko (director, pharmacy informatics) and Dave Trupiano (previous clinical pharmacy informatics specialist).

This was a multiple year project during which the team worked diligently to identify high risk patients with the goal of directly focusing pharmacy efforts to reduce hospital readmissions. 

Return to news