Pharmacy Practice

Post-Doctoral Fellowship Programs


Pharmacy Practice - Grants Funded

Principal/Co-Principal Investigator

Mary Beth O’Connell and Carol Bugdalski-Stutrudalong with Medical School and School of Social work faculty. Wayne State University: Interprofessional Team Home Visit Program Fostering a Collaborative Approach to Patient Care funded by the Vining Foundation. $124,000

Rybak, M. PI.Evaluation of Ceftaroline plus Avibactam against common pathogenic anaerobic bacteria in a one-compartment in vitro pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamics model. Cerexa Pharmacueicals. ($84,012.50 6/12/12-6/11/13)

Rybak, M. PI. Evaluation of a ceftaroline plus daptomycin de-escalation protocol against an isogenic MRSA/VISA pair in a hollow-fiber pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamics model.  Forest Pharmaceuticals. ($89,384.12 –DATES TBA)

Dr. Emily Martin,  2012-13 University Grant Award for the project titled "Development of a method to study the spread of vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus in households." $9,999.

Dr. Emily Martin  received the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities for $10,000 for the project titled "Molecular Epidemiology of MRSA & VR-E. faecalis Isolated from Dual Infections".

Rybak, M (Principal Investigator) Forest Research Institute, " Clinical and Economic Outcomes of Ceftaroline Fosamil for the Treatment of Acute Bacterial Skin and  Skin Structure Infections with Documented or at Risk of Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus"  Co-Investigators : Anthony Casapao, Pharm.D., (Anti-Infective Research Fellow, Pharmacy Practice), Susan Davis, Pharm.D., Pharmacy Practice, Jason Pogue, Pharm.D and Nitin Bhatia, Pharm.D., Pharmacy Services, and Robert Sherwin, M.D. Emergency Department, Sinai-Grace Hospital, Ryab Mynatt, Pharm.D. and Suprat Saely, Pharm.D., Pharmacy Services, and Donald Levine, MD, General Internal Medicine and Division of Infectious Diseases, Keith Kaye, M.D., Internal Medicine and Division of Infectious Diseases, Robert Welch, M.D.Department of Emergency Medicine, Detroit Receiving Hospital. $254,310.55. 2/1/12-11/30/14.

Martin ET has received the 2011-12 AACP New Investigator Award for the project titled “Influenza & Obesity: A Prospective Study of Patient Outcomes and Antiviral Resistance”

Pinelli N, Rhoney DH, Intravenous Exenatide Infusion in Critically Ill Neurologic Injured Patients: A Proof of Concept Study (concept approved 12/2011): $114,729 Amylin Pharmaceuticals (Principal Investigator) Pinelli N (principal investigator) Francine Salinitri, Emily

Pinelli N (principal investigator) Francine Salinitri, Emily Martin and Dr. Anita Patel M.D.(co-investigators) Effect of Liraglutide on Tacrolimus Pharmacokinetics in Renal Transplant Recipients Funding Pending (concept approved 12/2011): $10,000 Wayne State University – EACPHS Faculty Research Award Program

Rhoney DH. (PI), Pharmacokinetics and Clinical Response of Tolvaptan in Neurocritical Care Patients
Funded $90,425 Otsuka Pharmaceuticals

Rybak MJ. Principal Investigator: Evaluation of ceftaroline activity versus vancomycin against vancomycin intermediate methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus in an in vitro model. Cerexa/Forest Laboratories. $104,370.00

Rybak MJ. (PI), “Daptomycin plus Ceftriaxone Against Daptomycin Susceptible and Resistant Enterococcus Faecium: An Evaluation of a Novel Antibiotic Combination in an In Vitro PK/PD Model with Simulated Endocardial Vegetations.” Cubist, $72,480.55

Rybak MJ. (PI), National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases of the National Institutes, NIH R21 , "Impact of daptomycin dose exposure on Enterococci and Characterization of Resistance" $429,658

Rybak MJ, Improving Hospital-based Antimicrobial Prescribing towards Reducing Antimicrobial-resistant Hospital Acquired Infections. Funded by Michigan Department of Community Health/Centers for Disease Control for Prevention $223,490. Rybak MJ "A Preliminary Eval of the Activity of Ceftaroline Alone or in Combination with Dapto or Vancomycin Against an Isogenic MRSA/VISA Pair in a One-Compartment Pharmacokinetic/Pharmacodynamic Model", Forrest Pharmaceuticals, $35,811.51.

Salinitri F, Morbitzer K, Ross K, Diamond L. “An Observational Prospective Registry to Identify Demographic and Clinical Characteristics of Patients Hospitalized with Euvolemic and Hypervolemic Hyponatremia and Assess the Comparative Effectiveness of Available Treatments and the Impact on Resource Utilization.” Sponsored by Otsuka American, $18,682.50.

Taylor T, Frequency of Prescription Problems Requiring Pharmacy-Prescriber Interactions: A Pilot Study (w/ Nancy Lewis), $25,465, Southeast Michigan Beacon Community

Tutag Lehr V, Analgesic use and adverse effects in patients over 50 with chronic moderate to severe neck pain. (concept approved 12/2011): $9,980 Wayne State University – EACPHS Faculty Research Award Program (Co- Principal Investigator)


Keith Kaye (Principal Investigator), Martin ET (Co-Investigator) Bathing hospitalized dependent patients with disposable washcloths instead of traditional bath basins: an innovative method to reduce risk for hospital-acquired infection by eliminating an environmental reservoir of multi-drug resistant pathogens, Investigator initiated study. Sage Products, Inc, $210,000