Geri Smith chosen for Lambda Kappa Sigma service award

Wayne State University Professor Emerita of Pharmacy Practice Geralynn Smith Professor Emerita Geralynn Smith was selected to receive the Ruth Davies Flaherty Service Award for the Lambda Kappa Sigma (LKS) Omicron alumni chapter. This annual award goes to an LKS Omicron alumni member who has exhibited outstanding service and loyalty to the professional fraternity, which provides lifelong opportunities for women in pharmacy through professional excellence and personal growth.

“Geri's commitment and loyalty to LKS have been inspiring for young student pharmacists and practitioners,” said chapter member and Assistant Professor (Clinical) of Pharmacy Practice Brittany Stewart. “She has been a great mentor, friend and role model for the members of LKS both locally and nationally. We are very proud to have her as a member of the Omicron alumni chapter and look forward to many more years of sisterhood.”

Smith has been the leader of the LKS Omicron alumni scholarship committee, which annually selects one LKS student pharmacist for the chapter’s $500 educational grant. This year, P3 My Tran won the scholarship.

Smith was initiated into the LKS Pi chapter at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, in 1962. She has been active as a collegiate member and with the Omicron chapter since 1978. She is also recognized as a 50-year member of LKS on a national level.

A pharmacist by profession, Smith the last 20 years of her career as a faculty member in the WSU Applebaum pharmacy program, where she also served as the director of experiential education.

Return to news