Arun Iyer wins Wayne State Academy of Scholars Award

Arun IyerThe Wayne State Academy of Scholars has recognized Arun K. Iyer, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, with the prestigious Junior Faculty Award for 2019-20. The award is bestowed annually for outstanding academic accomplishment and a significant record of publication or creative achievement resulting in national or international recognition very early in a career. 

Nominations were accepted for junior faculty members at the assistant professor or non-tenured associate professor level in the natural sciences, engineering or medicine; the social sciences or law; and in the humanities or fine and performing arts. Winners are selected based on the strength of nomination dossiers and independent evaluation letters solicited by the award committee.

The award carries a $1,000 honorarium for the awardee’s research program. Iyer's selection will be celebrated at the academy's annual banquet in the fall.

"This year saw a record number of nominations," said George Corcoran, department chair. "We take great pride in Arun's uncommon career achievement and singular distinction." 

Return to news