Pharmacy Alum to Receive Prestigious Award

Pharmacy alumnus Daniel Ashby is the recipient of the prestigious 2011 Harvey A. K.Whitney Lecture Award, known as “the health-system pharmacy’s highest honor.” The American Society of Hospital Pharmacists (ASHP) will present the award to Ashby at its June 14 Summer Meeting in Denver.

Ashby is senior director for pharmacy services at Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, and clinical professor with the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. He earned a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy in 1971 and a Master of Science in Hospital Pharmacy Administration in 1977 from Wayne State University.

A past president of ASHP, Ashby is being honored with the award for his strong commitment to the expansion of clinical pharmacy services, the use of innovative technologies, and educational programs for pharmacists, pharmacy students and pharmacy technicians.

Before joining to Johns Hopkins, Ashby lead pharmacy programs at Methodist Healthcare in Memphis, TN, and Harper Hospital, Detroit.

The Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award was established in1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists to honor the first chairman of  ASHP. In 1963, ASHP became responsible for administration of the annual award, which honors outstanding contributions to the practice of pharmacy in health systems.

# # #

The Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, one of the founding colleges of Wayne State University, is committed to advancing the health and well-being of society through the preparation of highly skilled health care practitioners, and through research to improve health care practices and treatment from urban to global levels.

Wayne State University is a premier urban research institution offering more than 400 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 32,000 students.

Return to news
150 years in the heart of Detroit