Pharmacy professor Martin receives Pfizer ASPIRE Award in antibacterial research

Pfizer has presented a 2012 Award in antibacterial research to pharmacy faculty member Emily T. Martin, MPH, PhD. Known as ASPIRE (Advance Science Through Pfizer-Investigator Research Exchange), the award brings a $95,000, 12-month research grant to principal investigator Martin for the project “Outcomes following Linezolid Therapy in Complicated Skin and Soft Tissue Infections: A Multi-Center Retrospective Study.”

Martin is an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (EACPHS), Wayne State University (WSU). Collaborating investigators on the project are Susan Davis, PharmD, associate professor , EACPHS Department of Pharmacy Practice; Keith Kaye, MD, MPH, professor of medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, WSU School of Medicine, and corporate director of Infection Prevention, Epidemiology and Antimicrobial Stewardship, Detroit Medical Center; Michael Rybak, PharmD, MPH, professor, EACPHS Department of Pharmacy Practice, and director of the Anti-Infective Research Laboratory; Jason Pogue, PharmD, clinical pharmacist, Detroit Medical Center; Linda Jaber, PharmD, professor, EACPHS Department of Pharmacy Practice; and Carolyn Archer, MSc, epidemiologist, EACPHS Department of Pharmacy Practice.

The mission of the 2012 ASPIRE Awards in antibacterial research is to advance the medical knowledge to better understand disease pathogenesis, risk factors, host response and treatment outcomes of linezolid in complex adult patients with approved indications. According to Pfizer, considerable clinical trial data exists for linezolid in a variety of patients with known infections; however, most of the information is from controlled clinical trials and patients with certain disease complexities are underrepresented. The ASPIRE is presented to innovative clinical research proposals that evaluate linezolid’s role in the treatment of infections in complex adult patients within approved indications.

Pfizer, Inc. is an American multinational pharmaceutical corporation, headquartered in New York City with research headquarters in Groton, CN. Pfizer develops and produces medicines and vaccines for a wide range of health conditions including immunology and inflammation, oncology, cardiovascular and metabolic diseases, neuroscience and pain.

The Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, one of the founding colleges of Wayne State University, is committed to advancing the health and well-being of society through the preparation of highly skilled health care practitioners, and through research to improve health care practices and treatment from urban to global levels.

Wayne State University is a premier urban research institution offering more than 370 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 29,000 students.

Photo cutlines: (from left) Richard L. Slaughter, associate dean for pharmacy; Kimbal D. Ford, regional medical and research specialist, Pfizer, Inc.; Emily Martin; and Brian Crabtree, chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice.

February 19, 2013

Media Contact: Kathleen J. Karas
Phone: 313-577-2312


Return to news
150 years in the heart of Detroit